Brief History
Kuwait takes pride in participatory model of governance. Throughout its history, Kuwait’s subsequent rulers or (Sheikhs) actively engaged citizens in public affairs.  As such, consultation and public consent are key pillars of Kuwait’s political history.

The Kuwaiti people were the first GCC people to elect a legislative council in 1938. It is the people who, immediately after independence in 1961, worked for establishing the foundations of the institutional rule. This way, the tribal society was transferred to the State’s society with its integrated political regime consisting of three powers: legislative, executive and judicial. Also, State of Kuwait is the first state in the Arabian Peninsula to have its own constitution and an elected national assembly which forms a strong pillar of democracy with all its dimensions and meanings.

However, it was not until 1962, a year after Kuwait gained its independence from the United Kingdom, that the current parliament, known as the National Assembly was formed.

That year, the-then Amir of Kuwait Sheikh Abdulla al-Salim al-Sabah (1950-1965), institutionalized Kuwait’s long history of consultation and public participation through the formation of a founding assembly (al-majlis al-ta’sisi), which was tasked with codifying the Nation’s Constitution.  The draft was presented to Sheikh Abdulla al-Salim on November 11, 1962, who signed and ratified it on the same day without any amendments.  The first election for the newly formed National Assembly were held in 1963.  The 1962 Constitution remains in effect to this day.

Composition and Role
Kuwaiti citizens elect fifty (50) Members of Parliament from five (5) electoral districts to the unicameral legislature. The top ten winners from each district are allocated a parliamentary seat. MPs serve for four year-terms, unless the Amir calls for early elections. There is no limit on the amount of terms an MP may serve. Suffrage is extended to all Kuwaitis at the age of 21, except those citizens who have been naturalized for less than 30 years and active members of the armed forces.

Members of the Cabinet are ex-officio members of the National Assembly. The 1962 Constitution limits the size of the cabinet to one-third that of the elected MPs and therefore the highest possible number of ministers is 16, including the Prime Minister.

The 1962 Constitution requires that at least one member of cabinet be an elected MP. Although cabinet members are actively engaged in National Assembly affairs, the constitution prohibits them from partaking in certain procedures, most notable of which are a vote of non-cooperation with the Cabinet, or a vote of no-confidence against a particular minister.


Members of the National Assembly
Fourteenth Legislative Term

Marzouq AlGhanim

Mobarak AlKhrinej
Vice Speaker

Adel Al Khorafi

Abdullah Al Tamimi

Abdullah Almaayouf


Dr. Ahmad Al Azmi


Ahmed Alqudaibi


Jamal Al Omar


Faris Alotaibi


Hamad Al Harshani


Hamdan Al Azmi


Humoud Al Hamdan


Khalaf Al Enezi


Khalil Abdullah


Dr. Khalil Saleh


Mohammed Albarak


Rakan Al Nesef


Rawdan Al Rawdan


Saad Al Khanfour


Saadoun Al Otaibi


Sultan Al Shammari


Saif Al Azmi


Saleh  Ashour


Saud AlHarijy


Talal Al Sahli


Dr. Abdul Hameed Dashti

Dr. Abdul Rahman AlJiran

Ahmed Lari


Dr. Abdullah Al Traygi


Dr. Ali Al Omair


Askar Al Enzi


Adnan AbdulSamad


Abdullah Al Adwani


Dr. Awda Al Rowaey


Essa Al Kandari


Faisal Al Kandari


Faisal Al Dowaisan


Faisal Al Shaya


Kamil Al Awadi


Majed Al Mutairi


Madi Al Hajeri


Mubarak Al Harees


Mohammed Al Enzi


Mohammed Al Hadeya


Mohammed Al Jabri


Dr. Mohammed Al Huwaila

Dr. Mansoor Al Dofairi


Nabeel  Al Fadel


Yacob AlSane






Dr. Youssef Al Zalzala